9004th: Chapter 9 – Sentence. Zewan-Gun Mine, Lead the Breach (1)

 The Zewan-Gan Mine is a mine opened in recent years.

 After the battles against Demon King Phenomena had already ramped up. 

 Its purpose was to mine ore for processing into catalysts for Sacred Seal.

 Sacred Seals engraved into higher quality iron has a larger amount of Luminescence, giving higher performance. 

 At one point, a town was built nearby, a workshop operated, and even a church was built.

 I heard that the Verkle Pioneer Public Cooperation had also made big investments to expand this mine.

 They installed an excavation device that used a Sacred Seal, and continued mining operations throughout day and night. 

 –So it might be right to think it ironic that this kind of mine ended up corrupted by the Demon King Phenomenon. 

 The situation of the land being corrupted by the Demon King Phenomenon was reported fairly early on. 

 In the same way living creatures are affected by the Demon King Phenomenon, non-living things can also be transformed by the Demon King. The passageways change, lumps of soil start moving on their own, and animals turn into Fae. 

 Even the humans who step in.

 It might have been around a month ago that reports of strange incidents were received from Zewan-Gan Mine.

 People who enter the mine never came out.

 Instead, deformed figures were spotted that indiscriminately attacked people. The killed humans were also transformed, forming a chain of transmission.

 Because of this, the nearby town was quickly abandoned, and without the excavation device, we were now stuck with the job of digging holes by hand.

 Swing the shovel, stab the soil.

 I’ve been constantly repeating this since yesterday.

(If I mess up, this might be my grave.)

 Right now, I won’t voice out such idle thoughts, which by the way wasn’t a joke. 

 The person I’m grouped with is not the type to appreciate such words. 

“Speed up.”

 That other person called out from behind.

 He is serious and has a lot of words.

“At this rate, it won’t be finished by the scheduled time! Be more serious in your excavation!”

 The name of the man yelling is Norgayu Senridge. A large statured, gold-bearded man, and only his appearance looks dignified.

 Known as His Majesty.

 Why we address him by that name — or rather, why we have to address him that way is because that guy thinks of himself as the King of this United Kingdom. 

 He is also serious about that.

 Of course, such a guy wouldn’t be able to co-exist with society, and he committed large-scale terrorist acts against those who had ‘stolen’ the Royal Castle. 

 Unfortunately for everyone, this man named Norgayu has an unbelievable talent for tuning Sacred Seals. 

 I’ve heard that the Military and the Royal Castle suffered many casualties.

 And, after going through a Kingdom Trial, he found himself here.

 In other words, one of the 9004th Penitent Heroes.

 Norgayu is now sitting on a huge wooden box like a throne and moving a chisel he had in his hand.

 On a long and narrow iron plate, a Sacred Seal is being engraved. A Sacred Seal with the function of blasting to be used from here on.

 This was a job only he could do, and so it was obvious this was how the work would end up being divided, but if you ask me whether it’s a bit annoying, it’s annoying. 

“Zyro. The Holy Knights Order is scheduled to perform the breach tomorrow morning. If this is not finished, we will order for work to continue through the night.”

 Norgayu said solemly.

“Endeavour. Depending on the outcome, we will give careful consideration to reinstating you as a Holy Knight.”

 In that guy’s head, he thinks of himself completely as the King. 

 I don’t know exactly how it’s sorted out in his mind, but I think he imagines himself a majestic King who takes command at the frontlines. 

 A King who personally leads Heroes to fight against Demon Kings — that’s certainly amazing.

 Isn’t that just like the legendary Founder King?

 And, as His Majesty Norgayu said, we do need to speed up, that was right.

 The 13th Holy Knights Order intends to control this mine.

 A speedy military operation had been planned. We have to make it successful even at the cost of our lives. 

 Currently, our orders are to dig a direct route. 

 The demonised Zewan-Gan Mine is so distorted that the existing maps have become useless.

 This entire area has been transformed into something like a dangerous labyrinth.

 So what’s needed is a passageway for a shortcut — from the entrance that allows them to break into the deeper areas, and we were currently making one by digging and blasting. 

 This route work was the opening of our mission. 

 It’s a little different in His Majesty’s head.

 He probably takes it for fact that he’s in the lead commanding Heroes on the frontline, and he was the one who had ordered the Holy Knights to conduct a break-in mission. 

“Put more spirit into it. For this kind of excavation, it will be difficult for us to use our Sacred Seal destructively. If it activates, it is not unlikely that you will be buried alive.”

 His Majesty Norgayu said something to try and motivate me.

 Damn. I’m annoyed.

“Or do you want to pave the way as a sacrifice?”

“We’re hurrying enough, Your Majesty.”

 Before I noticed, I had already replied.

“I’ve been at this with almost no breaks since yesterday– right, Tatsuya?”

 Scraping out the soil, stones and gravel, I called out to my buddy beside me.

 Of course, no answer returns.

“……Guuh.”

 Only such a groan leaked out from him.

 His hands moving the shovel don’t stop. He keeps digging the ground mechanically. 

 An extremely hunchbacked man — a hollow expression. A rusty helmet on his head. To stop what’s in his head from spilling out the missing part at the back.

 This guy is also a Hero. 

 I don’t know his name, but we call him Tatsuya.

 A mysterious man who has been in the Hero Corps for longer than anybody else. We don’t even know what he’s in for. 

 As you can tell from looking, he doesn’t have an ego or the ability to think. Not because he’d died too much, because he had been revived too many times. Everytime we are resurrected, Heroes lose many things. 

 Now, Tatsuya isn’t even capable of language. 

 He can only react to things that happen around him and groan. Pretty much completely a zombie — a living corpse.

 This is also part of our punishment.

 As mentioned above, the ones deployed for this mission — rather, the only ones that could be deployed for this mission are three Heroes. 

 His Majesty Norgayu, Tatsuya, me.

 Difficult members. At least I didn’t have to worry about Dotta’s bad habits because I sent him to the Repair Shop after breaking all the bones in his body.

 And one more apart from us Heroes. 

“It seems as though you are having an arduous time, Zyro.”

 A girl sitting on a wooden box beside Norgayu.

 Even underground, the golden hair of [Goddess] Teolita is dazzling. She has a shovel in one hand, but she isn’t doing anything with it.

 She’s probably pained by that. 

 She’s been trying to help dig from a while ago. 

“Why don’t I stand in for you? I have energy in excess?”

“No way.”

 I immediately denied her.

 Teolita’s strength is not something to be wasted on such manual labour. 

 If she wants to lend a hand, it’s better to save it for battle. 

 Even though this is a fairly shallow layer, it’s still part of the mine. 

 Afflicted by the Demon King Phenomenon, you never know when the Fae might attack. 

“Sleep there. Save your strength.”

“However, my Knight. You look fairly exhausted.”

 After all, Teolita would rebel.

“Relying on the [Goddess] here is also the correct path for those who should be protected…. In the first place, I haven’t contributed anything yet. If it remains like this, I would not receive any praise, no?”

“If you sit down and don’t do anything, I’ll praise you.”

“I don’t think that is something praiseworthy at all. If I can’t play a role.”

“It’s okay.”

 I felt my voice become sharp. It’s partly because of my tiredness.

“Stay quietly there, I’m begging you.”

“…If my Knight says so.”

“His Majesty Norgayu, make sure the [Goddess] doesn’t come over to help.”

“Of course.”

 Norgayu nodded solemnly.

“The [Goddess] is a cornerstone of this country who protects the people. We can’t bother her with this kind of work…. We would like to beg for your forgiveness.”

 Norgayu acts like shit towards everyone, but he has a humble attitude towards Teolita.

 This was another fact I discovered. Venetim had pointed out that from now on, we could expect to use Teolita to control Norgayu. 

“Muu.”

 Teorita bit her lip and whined. A sign of her dissatisfaction.

“Acknowledged. Let’s say I shall now be watching over the labour of the people.”

“Please do that.”

 I can’t stand the fatigue that’s accumulated over my entire body, so I tried to at least stretch my hips. 

 Take a heavy breath and look back. 

 Then, I see an unexpected face.

“–Zyro Forberts.”

 It was Kivia.

 Commanding Officer of the 13th Holy Knights Order. 

 The one who should have originally been the contractor of [Goddess] Teolita. 

 Unlike when I last saw her, she is equipped in infantry gear. She has her usual piercing gaze that always looked like she’s fighting against something in this world, though I didn’t know what.

“Anyhow, it seems that your work is being executed seriously.”

“Of course that’s so.”

 I answered reflexively.

“If we don’t take it seriously, we’ll die.”

“……I see.”

 With an unreadable face, Kivia moved her sight. Moved to [Goddess] Teorita.

“[Goddess]. Rather than being in a place like this, why don’t you take a rest in our camp?”

“You’ve persisted many times, Kivia.”

 Teorita waved a hand haughtily.

“I have said that I am fine. I have to watch over the labour of my Knight. Because I am a [Goddess].”

“However–“

“Patouche Kivia. You have taken great pains to show your devoted concern for the [Goddess]!”

 Suddenly, Norgayu raised his voice.

 If you only listen to him speak, this guy always sounds like a big shot. Also, was that Kivia’s name — I’m surprised Norgayu even remembered it. 

“However! The [Goddess] wishes to see through the battles with us on the frontlines. We will surely be blessed.”

 While Kivia was stunned, Norgayu continued his words.

 A ridiculous bastard.

“Therefore, as King, we reject your petition. Return and fulfil your role.”

“…Zyro Forberts. What the hell is this guy…”

“Just nod along. If you object, it’s not going to turn out well.”

“Is this the effect of resurrecting the Penitent Heroes? Disorders in memory or recognition–”

“He’s been like this from the start.”

“I see……”

 Kivia looked even more surprised, but she seemed to have decided to not care too much.

 She coughed and stared at me.

“Anyway, the work is proceeding as planned…. It’s a little surprising.”

“Well. Only Dotta fools around. And Venetim.”

“That incident.”

 Although she spoke out to me, Kivia stopped. She looked like she was finding it hard to say. 

“What’s wrong? If you want to complain about the previous incident, you can complain as much as you like, but let me off. There was nothing I could do.”

“No. Not that.”

 Kivia gazed wandered and she fixed a stare on me again. 

“My bad.”

“Ah? What?”

“It was discovered that blaming you was a mistake. Not only was Dotta Luzlas the one who committed the theft, I heard that you had to sign a contract with [Goddess] Teolita in an unavoidable situation.”

“Well, that’s right.”

 I thought it was strange to be told that it was ‘her bad’.

 This woman didn’t really do anything wrong. In terms of tactics and strategy, it was clear that she was mistaken, but I wouldn’t call that a crime. 

 Trials decide whether things are right or wrong. 

 –In that regard, Dotta and I would be sinners. 

“I thought I should clarify the point and apologise. You did everything in your power to defeat the Demon King. With minimal casualties. At that time, I wasn’t able to grasp this.”

“That was well, because you were very angry. I understood your feelings well.”

“I just told you it was anger at Dotta Luzlas.”

“You’re very serious huh. Are you actually a good guy?”

“Enough… That’s all.”

 Kivia didn’t seem to want to talk to me too much.

 She cut the conversation off and like that, departed with her subordinates.

“Now, there’s no time to rest.”

 Said Norgayu.

“Resume excavation. Make up for the delay. Zyro, emulate Tatsuya and work without uselessly moving your mouth!”

 Isn’t Norgayu completely like the site director of a coal mine?

 I sighed and resumed work.

 In the end, we completed our schedule late into the night.


<< Previous | Next >>

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started