9004th: Chapter 4 – Sentence. Kivenji Forest, Cover The Retreat (4)

 By the time we got there, the battlefield had already opened.

 Carried on the chilling night wind are the raging roars of humans, battle cries, sounds that rumble like thunder. 

“Ah… they’re going at it. Isn’t it already too late?”

 Dotta said depressedly.

 He seems completely reluctant to rescue the Holy Knights. 

 Their encampment along the banks of the Purcell is up in flames, smoke flutters into the night sky. 

 Flames illuminate a nostalgic white armour. 

 The Holy Knights. The Fuath and Brownies trying to cross the river are either shot at with thundersticks or greeted with spears. 

 At the firing order, thundersticks release flashes of light, blasting at the bodies of the Fae. 

 The occasional echo of a thunderous roar is probably the stationary, more powerful and larger version of the thunderstick.

 Probably an Artillery Seal Series developed by Verkle. 

 Rather than a stick — it’s closer to a battering ram. Something that needs to be assembled before use. 

 Shells engraved with Sacred Seals are accelerated by the firing device that is also similarly engraved with Scared Seals and sent flying. 

 That kind of weapon. 

 It can’t be fired continuously, the number of fireable shells is limited based on the amount of available ‘Luminescence’ in the Sacred Seal, but it has the destructive force to blow up large groups of Fae. 

 The output is slightly larger than my Sacred Seal, the big candy “Satte Finde”.

 Generally speaking, they’re holding up well.

 The defensive lines haven’t yet been breached by the Fae. 

 Morale looks quite high, and I can see the figure of a person who appears to be the Commander giving orders to coordinate their shots. They’re also precisely targeting areas about to be breached and in need support.

(Of course, there’s not any face that I know huh.)

 Besides that, the coat of arms sewn onto their blue flag is also one I don’t know. 

 The crest is a large, balanced scale. 

 Holy Knights have different crests depending on their Order to display the prestige of the aristocrats who back them. 

 For the Holy Knights that once existed up to the 12th Order, each and everyone of them paraded their coat of arms, so I know them all.

 The fact that the one I currently see doesn’t belong to any one of those means that this is a new Order. With the support of an aristocrat I didn’t know. The [Goddess] Teolita must be the new 13th [Goddess].

 I finally truly realised the gravity of what we’ve ended up doing. 

 Everything’s Dotta’s fault. 

“Zyro, isn’t it already okay?”

 Said the guy carefreely.

“The Holy Knights are hanging on, they’re doing pretty well.”

“My word… my Knight. I cannot detect a shred of pride left in this servant. We should distinguish ourselves in this battlefield we witness right before us.”

 In the march to here, Dotta’s breathing had sped up, but [Goddess] Teolita kept a cool face. 

 As though the distance marched was something not worth mentioning, she conducts herself elegantly. 

 She’s simply putting on a brave front. 

 While she might be tougher than a normal human, [Goddesses] also tire. It’s just not showing on her face. 

 However, I’m not stupid enough to point that out. 

“Can’t be helped, so I’m going to help.”

 I said clearly.

“If we keep screwing around like this, they’ll definitely call us useless sacks of shit.”

“I am useless, so I don’t mind.”

 Dotta said, sulking.

“Is this really going to be better than us dying from the curse? Zyro, are you properly thinking about this?”

 Teolita’s face is full of dissatisfaction at our discussion. 

“My Knight. I believe we should use more discernment to select our servants. This individual is lacking in both motivation and spirit.”

 Apparently Teorita had recognized Dotta as a “servant”.

 It’s pretty common for [Goddesses].

 I don’t give a reply. I was entirely focused on the battle situation at the river crossing point. 

“We need to go now. The battle has already been going on for a fair bit.”

 I had already started walking.

“The Fae should be going around.”

 This was the obvious way of attacking.

 The Fae are stupid by nature and can only act like animals, but the Demon Kings that control these guys are different. 

 They have sound intellect and can act strategically. 

(If I was on the side of the Demon King–)

 With the ongoing surpression at the crossing point, there would be too many losses incurred from a frontal breakthrough. 

 In such a case, you would consider going around to another crossing point upstream or downstream. Organise a detached unit and send them there. That’s what you would normally do.

 And the Holy Knights don’t have the numbers to send another unit and keep such movements under check. 

 In the first place, they’ve already had to slightly fall back from their lines in the northern front. They’re holding up well, but there’s no way they’re in perfect fighting condition. 

 ’You shouldn’t try to fight in such a state’, I want to say. 

 I don’t know what’s going on with them — is there pressure from some aristocrat, or is their Commander as incompetent as our Venetim?

 Or was the talk of the Penitent Heroes covering their retreat completely unbelievable?

(That’s possible.)

 Enough to make you laugh. 

 It’s true that we’re a bunch of crap, and we might escape when we’re most needed, abandoning the operation. 

 Laughing by myself, I look back.

“Then, Dotta–“

 I noticed when I called his name.

 ’No way’, I thought. With this flow of events, you’ve gone and done something like that? Are you sane?

“Teolita. Where’s that guy?”

“Eh? Oh…?”

 Teorita is also astonished as she looks around.

 No signs. This ridiculous guy. Escaping at this timing — no, it’s the usual thing. Even so, he did move his feet tremendously quickly. There was nothing I could do now but admire him. 

 What’s more, there’s a piece of cloth on the ground. 

 Letters written in ink — ‘As a detached unit, I will be stealing valuable items from the Holy Knights.’

 I’m past the feeling of being amazed. If I find you later, I’ll kill you.

“That servant individual, where might he be headed?”

“…He probably remembered something urgent he had to do. Anyway, he’s not very useful so it’s okay… Rather than that, Teolita. From here on, I need your power. 

“Indeed.”

 The girl made her fiery eyes shine. She looked pleased. 

“After all, the one that can be depended on the most is this me. You require the power of miracles, no? Then express gratitude and extol me.”

“…Can you do it?”

 There was a reason why I purposely asked that.

 [Goddesses] also tire. 

 If they exert themselves physically, they will reach their limits, if they use the miracle of summoning, they will also exhaust their strength. It’s not the case that they can endlessly call forth objects. 

 Only just earlier, with that many swords summoned — she should be considerably exhausted. 

“How insolent, Zyro, my Knight.”

 Instead, she pouted moodily. 

 Such an expression made her look completely like a kid. 

“I am Teolita, the [Goddess] of the Sword. I am the guardian who grants humanity with miracles. Ask and you shall receive. That is my entire purpose.”

 –It was because of this that I hated them.

 These guys, these [Goddess] seriously mean what they say.

 They would genuinely consume their lives for the sake of humans. They stake their lives just to receive praise from humans. 

 That made me sick.

“Therefore, my Knight. Rely on me as much as you want.”

 Teolita proudly boasted. I also understood that she wanted to be praised for this attitude of hers. 

 ’I refuse’, I thought.

“You people have limits, I’m aware.”

 I started to spit out my words. 

“Don’t fight until you need to die. I won’t praise you for that.”

“What? Zyro, what might you mean by that?”

 Teolita was shocked. 

 From the northern side.

 At the Holy Knights’ encampment along the river bank, a herd of Fae surges out from the dark in attack.

 A detached unit of the Demon King Phenomenon had finished crossing the river and launched a flank attack. 

“Teolita.”

  I started running and touched her shoulder.

 That conveyed the general image.

“Requesting swords.”

“–Indeed. My Knight. The conversation we just had, there is something I would like to say in response.”

 Teolita gracefully brushed her hair.

“Let’s do that after we win.”

 Sparks scattered.

 Void is distorted — swords are called. Countless swords appear from somewhere.

 This time, they don’t just fall from the sky, but also grow from the ground. 

 I put the tips of my toes on the crossguard of one of those swords, use it in place of a foothold, and perform a vigorous leap. 

 A high jump like flying in the sky.

 This was the other Sacred Seal that I was allowed to use.

 Product name “Sakara”. Seal of Flight Sakara. In the Old Kingdom language, it seems to refer to a kind of dragonfly. 

 It’s function is to strengthen one’s basic physical ability — but it’s also effective in improving jumping ability by focusing its power. 

 Although for a very short time, it enables jumping close to flying.

 Aerial combat.

 That is the theme of this Berkuu-Type Shock Troop Seal Series carved on me. 

 Projecting power from the air. Countering Fae that can fly. And also, to act as a mobile shock soldier for dealing with the Demon King Phenomenon in general. 

 The difficulty of use can be seen in how much specific training is required for this kind of unusual close combat. 

 This is where I’m an expert.

 There are probably only a few experts in the entire United Kingdom. 

 That’s why I can do this.

 While flying in the sky, grab the sword that Teorita called.

 Along with the movement of swinging down the sword, this time I activate “Zatte Finde” — the Sacred Seal of Explosion flows into the sword and I throw. 

 A detonation occurs on the ground.

 The flesh of the Fuath rupture, the soil splits, and the night is illuminated.

 You can see that the Fae herd is confused.

 I land in their midst, grab another sword and swing. My intention with using the sword is not for the purpose of cutting. I use the Sacred Seal of “Satte Finde”.

(It’s been a long time huh, this too.)

 The body parts touched by the blade explode and tear to shreds. 

 Myriad swords also fall from the sky, these guys have no room to live. 

 In this way, the Fae that had been performing a separate flanking attack on the Holy Knights’ encampment were entirely stopped. 

 I think it was a pretty flashy intrusion.

 By this time, those bunch of Holy Knights had already noticed me. 

 Me and the [Goddess] Teolita.

 Of course, they are also completely confused.

(In times like this, the one that I should address–)

 Among the Holy Knights, I see someone wearing white armour that is particularly polished. 

 A person riding a clever-looking horse, accompanied by a flag bearer. 

 Probably, this person is the Commander. 

“–Who are you?”

 The Commander-like person utters with a voice that reveals a tremendous amount of vigilance. 

 Apparently a woman.

 This is made clearer after she flips up her helmet visor. Black hair and sharp eyes. In any case, since long ago, it’s not uncommon for there to be female soldiers. Physical abilities can be supplemented through Sacred Seals. 

 Within the military, the differences between men and women have been decreasing due to the development of Sacred Seals. 

“Who are you! State your name and affiliation!”

 The Commander woman repeated. 

 Her sharp eyes wander, stopping at Teolita who is waiting behind me, and deepening her confusion.

“The one present there, is that not our [Goddess]! Why is she conscious!?”

 I understand her feelings that made her end up screaming.

 If I were in her position, I would also have absolutely no idea about what was going on. However, this wasn’t the place for explanations, and it also wasn’t a case where explanations could change the situation. 

 Right now, everyone’s lives are at stake.

“Don’t worry about it.”

 I cut her off with one sentence and pulled out another sword from the ground.

“I do think the situation’s a complete mess, but it’s all because of Dotta. A thief at a level where his name will be carved into history, that guy.”

“Wait. No, wait. Seriously.”

 The Commander woman tries to stop me from talking.

“Explain! Who are you and what’s going on? Why is the [Goddess]–“

“I’m Zyro, the [Goddess] is Teorita. And this is probably not the place for explaining.” 

 I pointed to the other side of the riverbank with the tip of my sword.

 The pitch darkness of the night gathering there can be felt.

“The Demon King is coming.”

“I know that! But–“

“As a Hero, I will kill the Demon King.”

 The Commander woman was silenced by my statement.

 The genuine turmoil of the situation may have exceeded what she could tolerate.

“That’s the job. Starts now. If you don’t want to die, lend me a hand.”

 –In the world, there’s something known the way you speak. 

 Recently, I’ve started studying how to get better at putting things in words, but I haven’t improved at all.

 I feel it’s because of this that I always draw the losing lot.


<< Previous | Next >>

One response to “9004th: Chapter 4 – Sentence. Kivenji Forest, Cover The Retreat (4)”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started